Glentoran FC

The Official website of Glentoran Football Club / Pride of East Belfast 



Academy News: Foyle Vase Win for Glentoran 09s

Mon, 31/07/2023 - 15:20

A select team made up of our 2009 A and B squads came together to play in the Foyle Cup this year.

Using the opportunity to step up the intensity and fitness ahead of preseason the boys played a year up within the 08 competition.

Group games were hard fought against strong Newhill, Draperstown Celtic and Inishowen YL Select teams and the lads came away with a win, a draw and a loss.

After being filtered into The Foyle Vase, a Thursday semi-final against Cabbrey Rovers led the boys to a final on Friday against St Oliver Plunkett 08s.

This was the game of the week with the 2 teams giving everything to come away with the win.

The Glens would go 1 down early on before battling back to take a 2-1 lead, but Plunkett converted a spot kick on the stroke of half time to draw level again and setup a thrilling 2nd half.

The second half saw SOP try to make full use of their years advantage in size and strength and did their best to make the game as physical as possible. After 10 minutes of coming to terms with the fight The Glens settled into playing some brilliant football and scoring 2 good goals to go into a commanding lead.

St Oliver Plunkett would rally and score a third to make the last 10 minutes interesting but any nerves were calmed with a brilliant breakaway goal in the dying moments to give the lads a well deserved 5-3 win on the day.

Some brilliant performances both individually and as a team over the course of the week and valuable experience with playing a year above.

Really well done to all the lads and a special mention to Scott McCoubrey who suffered a nasty rib injury and we continue to wish him a speedy recovery and look forward to his return as soon as possible.

Well done men!

Squad;  Callum Courtney, Sam Ferguson, Archie Irvine (C), Jack Brown, Scott McCoubrey, Cole Smith, Justin Gillespie, Matthew Lowry, Thomas McCrissican, Jack Crawford, Dan Preston, Aodhan O’Hanlon, Ryan Watt, Ross Robinson, Dylan Jardine, Jack Spence

Article by Stephen Lowry