Glentoran FC

The Official website of Glentoran Football Club / Pride of East Belfast 



Castlereagh GSC Player Of The Year Awards

Sun, 03/06/2018 - 21:33

Last night was the traditional end of season awards night at the Castlereagh Glentoran Supporters Club. As has been the case for more years than most of us can remember, the members of the Castlereagh GSC again recognised those players who shone throughout the season and some club servants whose contribution to the club over the years has been particularly noteworthy.

Awards presented included the Glentoran Supporters' Player Of The Year, voted on by the whole Glentoran support at the last home match of the season and widely viewed as the "official" POTY award.

Curtis Allen was voted Glentoran Player of the Year by the home support for his oiuutstanding return of 26 goals in what was a very challenging year for Glentoran forwards. Curtis has now uniquely won the award for the third consecutive season. This had never been achieved before although Billy Caskey won it on three separate occasions in the 70s and 80s.

Elliott Morris won the Castlereagh GSC Members' Player of the Year Award after another excellent season in which he won the supoorters Player of the Month award for four consecutive months. It was also revealed on the night that Elliott was nearly shortlisted for the Ulster Player of the Year Award, also run by the Castlereagh club.

Club captain Marcus Kane collected the Young Player of the Year award on behalf of Dylan Davidson. Dylan won the award, just defeating runner up Nathan Kerr.

Glentoran Grounsdsman William Kirkwood was presented with a special achievement award for his tireless, sterling work in maintaining the Oval pitch as what is still the best playing surface in Northern Ireland football.

Goalkeeping Coach David McClelland, who left the club at the end of the season, was presented with a special award by the Castlereagh GSC in recognition of his eleven years' service to the club.

Congratulations to all winners and award recipients from Glentoran Football Club and many thanks to the Castlereagh Club from the players and directores made so welcome on this great night.

Le Jeu Avant Tout